Thirteen nations to participate in Dakar for ECOWAS Wrestling competition


Thirteen state of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) have confirmed their participation in the 7th edition of the African Wrestling competition which starts at the Iba Mar Diop stadium in Dakar Today (Friday) and scheduled to end on Sunday.

An official statement by the National Committee for the Management of Wrestling in Senegal (CNG) reveals that apart from the host country Senegal, brings together Burkina Faso, Benin, Liberia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and Togo.

Two countries which never took part in the competition, Cote d’Ivoire and Cape Verde are also absent from this competition.
The matches will be played individually and by teams.

Senegal which won five of the six previous editions (against one for Nigeria) is the favourite of this competition, the organization of which is part of celebrating ECOWAS 40th anniversary (1975 – 2015).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s