Dalung inaugurates 8 member committee on facilities assessment

Solomon Dalung 2

Minister of Youth and Sports, Solomon Dalung has inaugurated an Eight-member Committee on Assessment and Evaluation of all Sporting Facilities in the country.

Special Assistant on Media to the minister, Nneka Anibeze who made this known in statement in Abuja, said the committee was headed by Agboola Dixon.

Other members of the committee include: Jimlas Ogunsakin, a public health physician, Arc Bose Idegbesor, Ezra Madaki, Engr Fred Onuorah, Victor Ugboh and Ikechukwu Ikogwe as Secretary.

Inaugurating the committee, Dalung praised the group for its patriotism and commitment to restore the dignity of sports in Nigeria.

The statement said Dixon voluntarily offered to carry out a comprehensive inspection of all national mini sporting facilities in the country and generate an information data bank for the ministry.

According to him, the report will enable the ministry to know how many facilities there are in the country, their locations, their present state and what is needed to make them functional.

The statement also quoted a member of the committee, Clement Nwankpa, as saying that the country’s inability to win medals at the last Olympics was due to the absence of functional training facilities.

Nwankpa said there was need for every local government council to have at least one functional sports center.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s